Reviews


Reviews for our Condo: From Property Manager's page (Sunquest) and our VRBO page


Great location, great views, great condo
We stayed at Kona Reef D14 for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The rental management services were great and very informative. No issues with payments or check in. The condo is great for a couple or a family with small children who can sleep on a sofa bed. The king bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. (we have a tempur-pedic at home and still no complaints!) We loved sitting on the patio, enjoying the ocean waves and breeze. It as very private. Being on the second floor, you don't have people walking by or looking into your condo. Ac worked fine, but was rarely needed due to the breeze through the patio screen doors. The best part of this condo for us was being walking distance to the strip of restaurants and shops in town, but being far enough away for peace and quiet. We really enjoyed exploring the town and eating at the great open air, ocean front restaurants. There is a small beach next to the condo that looked nice. We didn't go there much as most of our time was spend diving (with Kona Diving Company who was awesome!). We had a fabulous time in Kona and will be back very soon!! This is our new favorite Hawaiian location.
—Brenda on 04/23/2014

Fabulous!!
The condo was so nice! The neighborhood was awesome! We enjoyed sitting on the lanai every evening and watching the sun set. The condo had absolutely everything we needed to prepare our own meals. We used the grill by the pool almost every day. Staff was super nice! We would definitely utilize this condo again.
—Kim on 04/10/2014

Heavenly
We really enjoyed our stay in Kona and this condo unit. It was on the ocean, with everything we needed. The unit even had boogie boards and snorkel gear, and barbeques in the pool area so we could enjoy home-made fresh fish every night. We could walk to the main strip or drive a short distance to great beaches.
—Kate on 04/02/2014

Great clean condo with fantastic view of the ocean and sunsets.
Excellent clean condo with all the enemities we needed for our stay. We cooked out on the grill by the pool a lot which was very clean, and had all the tools and dishes we needed.The view was excellent as we watched whales and dolphins play in the ocean and the sunsets were fantastic.Everything we needed to do (restraunts, shopping ect.) were all within walking distance .Would definitely return to stay in the same condo.
—Ted and Lila on 02/26/2014

Just Right!
We really enjoyed our stay in this unit. The owners had made it quite comfortable and clean. The appliances all functioned quite well and the owners also provided boogie boards, snorkel gear, and beach mats. We were very pleased and would recommend this to others without reservation.
—Karmatron on 12/19/2013

Kona Reef D14: an excellent abode for exploring the Big Island
Having stayed before in this condo we had our expectations and they were met fully. The easy key-pad entrance was an improvement over last time we visited D14.Having dinner in restaurants at walking distance (even the Kona Brewery is about 20 mins. walk away)and then lulled into sleep by the surf and not being disturbed by traffic or other big town noises makes D14 a place to look forward to return to.The outside maintenance that took place during daylight hours during our stay was only a slight hiccup easily overlooked. After all maintenance has to occur sometime.
—Hein & Wil on 11/29/2013

Would love to Return and stay longer
This condo was comfortable and an excellent location with a view from the balcony of continuous entertainment from the surfers and boogie boarders. Walking into Kona was pleasant and easy access to shopping and restaurants. Excellent snorkeling and beaches were between 5 and 45min away. The pool and hot tub are oceanfront. This was our second time at the Kona Reef and plan on returning for a longer stay.
—J & J, C & C on 09/22/2011

gorgeous and convenient location
This is the ideal location to stay in Kona. Scenic beach, entertaining surfers, gorgeous sunsets. The unit is very comfortable, nicely decorated and is a perfect home away from home.
—Chris on 06/15/2011

Great view and location
The ocean is just a few steps from the lanai of this condo and it is wonderful to listen to the surf and watch turtles, whales and dophins just in front of my window. The bed and furniture is new and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. The pool and grounds were wonderful, clean and very secure. We really enjoyed the location which was just a block walk to many restaurants and shops. We always found plenty of parking spots near our condo and the area was well lit at night. However, there is no way to avoid the six steps up to the condo so folks with disabilites may find this unworkable. We would come here again.
—Waukenabogirl on 03/26/2014

Clean and comfortable with a great view
Very good accomodations in Kona. Condo has an excellent location for both views and walks into town. This unit was clean and comfortable and obviously well kept and well managed.
—Tom on 02/12/2014

We always enjoy the ocean front view
D14 is a nice unit and updated. But, there still remains some work to be done. The tub spigot was a little loose, carpet needed cleaning and it was un-nerving to have the disposal so open when using. We have stayed at Kona Reef ocean front condos and they all are worth the value. Check in was a little complicated by having to obtain the unit key at Sunquest Realty several miles away.
—David Olsen on 01/04/2012

A wonderful place to people watch from the lanai.
Location was great. Shops and restaurants within walking distance. Condo was very clean and had all the amenities needed for wonderful stay. It was great to wake up to the roar of the ocean and enjoy the first cup of coffee on the lanai. The thing I liked most was the incredible view.
—Jane Miller on 11/11/2011

Time out for sunshine
Kona Reef is a lovely location; it's an easy walk to town, and it's off the road enough so that traffic noise isn't an issue. The condos are comfortable, though one needs to pack lightly since the closets are very small. No problem there, since the unit has a washer and dryer.Sun Quest is a great manager--any questions or problems are dealt with immediately. I'm a repeat customer because I'm a happy one.
—Sun lover on 10/26/2011

Amazing place, poorly documented and supported checkin/checkout
Beautiful place, great location everything with the place was perfect save the checkin/checkout and reservation experience.
—5 on 05/24/2012
Manager Response
Aloha and thank you for posting your review of Kona Reef D14. I'm sorry that you experienced difficultly with the checkin/checkout proceedure but I'm sure how to respond without knowing the full details of what you experienced. I understand that the current proceedure of checking in at the management office for the unit key is not ideal, but please know that in the near future, guests will be able to proceed directly to the unit to checkin as the owner is upgrading the lock to a keyless entry. We are glad that you enjoyed the condo and hope that you had a wonderful vacation.




VRBO Reviews

Write a review 4.6
from 14 traveler reviews
    • Hawaii, always the best

    I really do not know what to say other than our stay was excellent. However, I really want to thank the crew at Sunquest for their help. The condo was in a perfect location. Also it was clean and well decorated. However, with out the help of the Sunquest crew our trip would have been impossible. Well done ladies!
    • Stayed: October 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
  •  Wonderful little condo!
  • The two of us had a wonderful time here. It is a great location...short walk to town with its shops and restaurants. We loved eating at Lava Java. The condo is well equipped in the kitchen and has 3 good adjustable snorkeling gear sets, 3 boogie boards, beach mats & towels, and a soft sided cooler.
    • Stayed: July 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
    • Amazing

    It was absolutely wonderful! The view was awesome!! Thank you for sharing.
    • Stayed: April 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Absolutely fabulous!!!!

    My husband and I watched the sun dip into the sea every evening from the lanai. The condo was absolutely immaculate and had everything we could possibly need. My husband cooked on the grill by the pool several nights and we met many new people! This is such a nice condo complex and everybody we met was extremely nice.
    • Stayed: March 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Excellent location and great condo

    We really enjoyed the wonderful sounds of the surf and views of whales, dophins and sea turtles from the lanai of this nice condo. We walked the quarter mile into town and ate at several local restaurants as well as enjoying the shopping nearby. The new king bed was really comfortable as were the new sofa and chair. The wifi worked perfectly and it was great to have a good cable TV in both the living room and the bedroom. I was amazed to find just about everything I needed - cooking utensils, basic spices, beach towels, washing machine detergent (yes, it was great to have a washer and dryer right in the unit!) I was happy to find barbecue tools to use at the great grilling area by the pool so we grilled some delicious burgers for dinner. The pool was sparkling clean, perfectly warm, and the whole area well tended and the pool rules were enforced. The whole complex was very well cared for with nice landscaping and careful cleaning. It was very quiet at night and we felt very safe walking around in the area. The units are not brand new, but this one has been nicely updated with granite counters, new carpet and decor, although the bathroom and kitchen cupboard doors showed a fair amount of wear. The beach park next door to the complex has some sand, but is still very rocky for swimming. We also found that the waves came in pretty strong to this beach and would not be safe for swimmers who are not used to navigating between the rocks and waves. It was fun to watch the locals ride the waves there, however. We always found a parking space just next to the condo. It should be noted that the only way to get to condo is by climbing about six stairs. We very much enjoyed our time at this property and would rent here again.
    • Stayed: March 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
    Recommended for: Age 55+, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, R
  • Loved being right on the ocean great sunsets

    This is a nicely set up one bedroom unit directly on the ocean. We had most breakfasts,lunches and dinners on the lanai.the king bed was comfortable. The a Reef is a short walk to town. The owner and Sunquest were easy to work with. A very nice experience overall. We love the Big Island and have been coming here for30 yrs.
    • Stayed: January 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO
  • Great get away

    Very comfortable, safe place, everything worked out great and left us wanting for nothing. Location was great so handy to good places to eat, markets and stores for shopping. The best beaches we still had to drive north to get too away from the reef.
    • Stayed: December 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Ideal place!

    We couldn't have been more pleased with this rental. Everything was as promised; the unit was clean, accessable, and central to the Kailua-Kona area. In addition to being perfectly situated, the owners provided snorkel gear, boogie boards, and beach mats. We would definately recommend this unit!
    • Stayed: November 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Hawaii 2013

    We had a great time....the accommodations were good and we LOVED the pool area. The location could not have been better. Our condo was beach view and had a nice Lania to sit on and enjoy the absolute beauty of the ocean. The pictures of the condo were spot on and it was clean. I would recommend this to others for sure. The Panalu u' black sand beach is a must see. The green sea turtles there were huge and we enjoyed seeing them when they went on the beach to sun themselves.
    • Stayed: May 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

    Big Island Spring Break

    This was a wonderful place to stay, it just felt like home. I am torn by giving it a great review as I don't want even more people to want to stay there as it will get so booked that we will never have the chance to return. It had everything and more to make our trip wonderful. The bed was very comfortable as was the living room furniture. The view from the deck could not have been more scenic and it being so close to town, if we had not wanted to travel to more of the island, we would have never needed a car. This condo is not new, but it is very clean, has everything you will need for a wonderful vacation including a washer & dryer so don't overpack. The common areas were very clean and we really enjoyed the nice BBQ's when making dinner, the pool and Jacuzzi looked nice but we never used them, we had the whole warm Pacific Ocean to swim in. I can't think how it could have been any better. OK, one thing, we somehow arrived without ever having received the entrance code but the local phone number got us to the person wh took care of that in about 5 minutes. I don't know whose fault it was but it's always nice if you can actually get into the condo you rented once you are there and you can bet next time, we will have that information before we leave home.
    • Stayed: March 2013
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO


Contact Information
Michael - call Toll-Free 855-KonaReef (855-566-2733) or email at KonaReef@live.com

Hawaii Tax I.D. No. TA-154-031-1040-01, GE-154-031-1040-01

This is a privately owned single unit.

Advertise: Contact Webmaster at KonareefD14@yahoo.com